Football: Four Shaker players earn all-state honors

Shen, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake also well represented on list

Four members of the Shaker football team were named Class AA all-state players by the New York State Sportswriters Association Wednesday.

Offensive lineman David Morrison was a first team offense selection, while tailback Ryan Griffin and defensive lineman Schuyler Huntington were named to the second team. Quarterback Chris Landers received an honorable mention.

Morrison was the lone Section II player to be named to the first team in Class AA. Schenectady quarterback Kwame Jarvis and Christian Brothers Academy offensive lineman Mike Zaloga joined Griffin on the second team offense.

Third team honors went to Columbia running back Chris Smith, Guilderland linebacker Andrew Antoinette and Shenendehowa’s Kyle Buss (defensive back) and Corey Acker (punter). Shen offensive lineman Chris Stewart and linebacker Chris Miller were fourth team selections.

Honorable mentions went to Guilderland quarterback Frank Gallo, Niskayuna running back Aidan O’Brien, CBA tailback Cameron Wynn, Schenectady offensive lineman Tyler Depasquale, Shen lineman Alan Gaines, Schenectady defensive back Felix Rodriguez and Bethlehem kicker Spencer Ferrigan.

Three members of the state champion Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake football team were first team all-state selections in Class A – Nick Marschesiello (offensive line), Eric Dillon (defensive back) and Ryan McDonnell (place kicker). Nico Fragale (defensive line) was a second team selection, along with Troy’s Nick Valenti (linebacker) and Amsterdam’s Geo Rodriguez (defensive back).

BH-BL lineman Shane Fisher was named a fourth team all-star, while tailback Dan Porter, linemen Paul Krowell and Nate Sawyer and linebacker David Newell received honorable mentions. Scotia-Glenville lineman Nick Schaub also received an honorable mention.

In Class B, three Section II players made the first team all-state offensive unit – Schalmont tailback Devon Willis, Lansingburgh running back Anthony Walker and Glens Falls’ Mike LaNoir. Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk lineman Alex Soutiere was a third team offense selection, while Schalmont’s Jesse Ross (lineman) and Nick Gallo (linebacker) received honorable mentions along with Ravena’s Dylan Keyer (linebacker). The Class B team was named Jan. 2.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment